Ashvegas Hot Sheet: Toots & The Maytals, Los Lobos headline fall LEAF


More of what’s going around:

-The line-up for the fall edition of LEAF in Black Mountain has been announced. It includes Toots & The Maytals and Los Lobos as headliners, along with many more acts, including: Elephant Revival, Turkuaz, Fantastic Negrito, Raul Midon, Chicano Batman, Nik West, Sierra Hull, Feufollet, Con Brio, Villalobos Brothers, Khruangbin, Dustin Thomas, The Jerry Cans, Trad.Attack, The Broadcast, David LaMotte, The Screaming J’s, Beny Esguerra and the New Tradition, Forlorn Strangers, Josh Phillips’ Big Band, Andrew Finn Magill, Numatik. Brie Capone, Ian Ridenhour, Sparrow and Her Wingmen, much more.

-There’s a great comedy show coming up at the Dirty South in The Southern restaurant in downtown Asheville. “Two wonderful touring comics from L.A., Caleb Synan and Adam Christie,” will be featured, says loyal reader Melissa. Synan started in Atlanta and has been through Asheville many times over the years and is a local favorite, she says. The “Make America Canada Again” tour is set for 9 p.m. on July 22.

-Daryl Fisher is running for Buncombe County Sheriff. He joins Chris Winslow and Randy Smart as declared candidates seeking to succeed Sheriff Van Duncan, who is not seeking re-election next year, the Asheville Citizen-Times reports. All three candidates have extensive law enforcement experience.

-We’ve already told you that Anchor Bar and Kitchen is going into the former Buffalo Nickel spot along Haywood Road. Here’s a little more detail from co-owner Jimi Rentz: the restaurant will feature pizzas that are smaller in size than Barley’s, another well-known Asheville restaurant that Rentz co-owns, and with a thin crust. The upstairs will maintain its sports bar-feel, and will serve up nachos and other pub-style far. The upstairs pool tables will remain, also. Look for an August opening.

-Asheville-based WLOS, owned by Sinclair Broadcasting, is hiring.

-American Top Team Asheville, a new boxing gym, has opened in south Asheville.

-The International Songwriting Competition is now open for submissions. Entrants pay to submit a song, which is judged by the following panel:

Artists: Tom Waits; Perry Farrell; Lorde; Bastille; Don Omar; American Authors; Nancy Wilson (Heart); Sara Evans; Ziggy Marley; Hardwell; Jesse & Joy; Lonnie Liston Smith; Martie Maguire (Dixie Chicks); Kaskade; Natalie Grant; Booker T. Jones; Nicky Jam; Ray Benson (Asleep At The Wheel); Vijay Iver; Ana Barbara; Krewella; Danilo Perez; Zach Williams; Keane; Everclear; Amadou & Mariam; Afro Celt Sound System; Matt Maher; John Mayall; Devo; Matt Nathanson; Nicholas Gunn; Femi Kuti; Tony Joe White; Tommy Chong; and more.

Industry Execs From: Atlantic; Warner Bros.; Sire; Glassnote; Island; Razor & Tie; Sony Music Latin; Concord; Alligator; Atlas Music Publishing; Wind-Up; S-Curve; Interscope; Fueled By Ramen; MTV International; Black River Ent.; Capitol; New West; Word Ent.; Cumbancha; Robbins Ent.; NAPPA; Zanies; Music For Little People; Parent’s Choice Awards; The Brill Building; Reservoir Media Mgmt; Kobalt Music; Songs Music Publishing; and more.

Now in its 17th year, ISC is one of the largest and most respected songwriting competitions in the world. Prizes include over $150,000 in cash and merchandise, including a $25,000 cash to the Grand Prize winner. Past winners include: Vance Joy; Gotye; Bastille; The Band Perry; Kimbra; Passenger; Kasey Chambers; Passenger; Lindsey Stirling; Kate Miller-Heidke; Gregory Porter; King Charles; Gin Wigmore; Andrew Bird; Tommy Castro; For King & Country; Omar Sosa; and more.