Asheville Downtown Association announces new officers


A good group. Here’s the press release:

The Asheville Downtown Association today announced its newly elected 2012 officers and board members.

Adrian Vassallo (Dixon Hughes Goodman) was elected to serve as 2012 board president. Vassallo joined the board in 2006 and served as treasurer from 2007 to 2011.

“The association is entering its 25th year and we’ve made many great strides over this time. However, smart growth, homelessness and graffiti are issues that we continue to address. We’ve also been supporting the BID initiative and will continue to work with the interim board to inform the downtown community on its benefits,” Vassallo said.

He assumes the position following Byron Greiner who served as president for three terms. Vassallo added, “Byron has been a phenomenal leader and consensus builder. I’m excited to see what 2012 will bring and look forward to working with all our downtown constituents.”

Christopher Tod Bubenik (WNC Magazine) will serve as vice president and interim secretary after joining the board of directors in 2010. Jarrod Perkins (Asheville Savings Bank) was elected treasurer after serving three years on the board.

The ADA also elected new board members: Brian Alexander (Homeward Bound), Dane Barrager (DARN board member), Anthony Cerato (Fiore’s Ristorante Toscana), Cate Marvill (Asheville Convention & Visitors Bureau) and Ruth Summers (The Grove Arcade).

The ADA will host its annual State of Downtown Luncheon in February with an update on the Downtown Master Plan from an association, city and county perspective. More information will be posted soon at

1 Comment

Taryngentry December 16, 2011 - 5:25 pm

Adrian will be a great president!

Post Comment